Chilling in Granity

I have recently travelled to Granity which is a little piece of heaven outside of Westport. My parents own an endearing bach right next to the sea which I like to escape to when I need a mental break. The sound of the waves crashing against the shore, cicadas singing and the crackling of the fire on those cold wet nights creates a wee nest of inspiration for me.

For awhile there I felt tempted to type “last blog ever” because I suddenly had a lazy spell. But after walking on the beach collecting wood, getting burned by the sun, trying out new recipes at dinner time (both failure and success) I was suddenly pumped up with energy! Like a deflated balloon that has been given more air, so much air though that it’s about to burst! The “burst” part describes my excitement. 🙂

I made a yummy roasted potato salad with red onion and red capsicum for dinner last night. I have never really attempted to make a fancy salad as I always considered them to be boring. But boy, was I proved wrong in this instance!

I made some changes to the original recipe because baby rocket leaves were not available in store and I forgot the kidney beans (not complaining) so I added mixed lettuce and cut up fried crispy strips of ol smokey bacon instead, I just couldn’t go full salad!

The meal was gorgeous but in future I will use baby potatoes instead of large as they were too over sized for my mouth. In future, I should really read the recipe properly haha but in saying that, it was still really yummy and my sister enjoyed it as well. We also shared a cheeky glass of passion fruit-lime cider, which completed the meal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo was taken right outside my parents bach! Literally a minute walk from the back door step onto the beach. Can’t get any better than that! 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kate says:

    Sounds & looks fanastic😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

